IMG_9043

Catching Up On Summer

Summer is rapidly hurtling to a finish which makes me draw breathe as I haven’t knocked too many things off my summer bucket list, except for a few books. How about you? Did you have plans to read the next great work of fiction, or even write one?

While you were relaxing and enjoying summer lots has been going on in the literary world. Just in case you missed some things here is a little collection of some highlights,

Do you remember being read to as a child? Or even better, sharing a read aloud with a little one? There is really nothing better. Well, how about making adult story time a thing? And yes you can,.

Why the world needs librarians.

Catching Up On Summer

 

How literary are you? Do you think you know your books? Well, 92% people can’t identify a book by the first sentence. How do you compare?

In a recent post the name Shirley Jackson came up. She is having a moment apparently. The Economist (that is – heavy, serious fact based reading) has a great article encouraging you to try her short story. If The Economist says to read it, you had better believe there is some truth. Go check her out. And in case you need encouraging the article says….. it was shocking!!

Looking to update your fantasy reading. With strong female characters? Book Riot has some good suggestions. Perfect for the beach reading bag.

And in a HUGE omission we forgot to mark National Book Lovers Day. August 9th! Did you know that? No matter it is a day late, honor the day and spend some time with a book.

So what are you reading?

Catching Up On Summer

IMG_9043

A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses Book #3) by Sarah J. Maas

This post contains affiliate links for your convenience.

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. MaasSummary

“Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.”

-From Amazon.com

Review

So I had been waiting for this book for ages! If you had been following my Instagram, you probably saw me hyping it up, and if you had Instagram you probably saw everyone else freaking out about the release! I’m new to the series, only having found out about it from people I follow on Insta and being intrigued because so many people were talking about it and so many people loved it. It also had a gorgeous cover! So I started the series and thankfully only had a few months to wait until the 3rd book, ACOWAR, came out. But now that that book is over I’m so lost! There will be one coming out next year, apparently, but the rumor is is that it will be novellas from different characters, however nothing is sure yet, so I will keep track of that.

Overall I absolutely loved this book. It’s such a wonderful YA read. It follows the kind of mythical land and a division between the humans and others and the third book in the series goes on to the war which has been building from book one. All three books work together and the story builds until the massive battle which occurs within this book.

As I’m sure all of you know, I am really picky about characters. So this falls into the genres of fantasy, action and romance. Now, when there is romance in a book, I always look to see what kind of romance it is. I don’t mind superfluous fluff now and then but I always love a strong female lead. And Feyre is definitely one! She is so badass, she can fight and she is so strong. She’s a wonderful roll model as a character. While she is strong, she is also a really good diplomat within the stories, working hard to people all the people within moderation and stop the war from occurring, as best she could, although it was inevitable.

On to the cover, it’s absolutely gorgeous. Just look at it! It’s a gorgeous teal, a color which I absolutely love, and then there is Feyre on the cover with the infamous tattoo and then little bits of smoke whispering around her.  What really caught me was the color as it caught my eye and was just so unique as a book color. Sure, I’ve seen more intricate covers but it was honestly the color which got me.

As for the story, age wise, it is definitely for older YA as there are some romantic scenes. This is not a book which is based around that as it’s YA and not a romance novel, however to aid the story and develop the romance there are some bits like that in it so it’s not a younger YA read.

Overall, the book was amazing and I would definitely suggest reading it! I mean, you have to start with book #1 as you can’t read this series out of order as there are so many characters and a developing story, so you need to start with #1, A Court of Thorns and Roses, then A Court of Mist and Fury and finally A Court of Wings and Ruin! Trust me, you won’t regret it. Everyone I’ve told to give it a try loved it in their own way.

Have you read it? Thoughts?

Happy Reading!

IMG_9043

Alex Rider: Never Say Die [Cover Release]

After all of these years, one of my favorite series as a kid, Anthony Horowitz is finally coming out with another Alex Rider book!

I’m definitely going to be checking it out!

Now all they need to do is make the entire series into a book, as I’ve been waiting years for them to do more!

Alex Rider: Never Say Die

IMG_9043

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This post contains affiliate links for your convenience. 

A Court of Mist and Fury

Summary

“Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.”

-From Amazon.com

Review

Okay, so  I caved in and borrowed this book from my library before I finished the other book I am reading, but I just had to. I honestly couldn’t wait. I kept seeing it all over my feed on Instagram and I just had to check it out!

And oh boy I loved it. This one took me a little longer to read as it was a much longer book, but it kept me guessing the entire time. You really weren’t sure what was going to happen and who was going to end up on what side. And that happened until literally the last page.

I had moments of laughing my butt off, wanting to cry and then having to take a breather from the actual book. This is a more mature YA book due to some of the violence and romance within the book (not graphic, but more for mature YA). In my opinion, book two was better than book one! Ugh, I was so depressed when I finished the book. I have to wait until MAY for book 3, A Court of Wings and Ruin. 

But honestly, if you read book one of the series, then you have to read this one as well.  It just keeps the series going. Honestly, you would have figured out if the series interested you in book one, so if you liked it, then you just have to read book 2 as well!

I’m 100% Team Rhysand. How about you?

Thoughts? I’m casually dying while I wait for the 3rd book to come out so I’d love to rant with someone!

Otherwise, happy reading!

 

IMG_9043

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This post contains affiliate links for your convenience.

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Summary

“Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.”

-From Amazon.com

Review

Well, I certainly wasn’t expecting this at all. I’ve been seeing A Court of Thorns and Roses all over Instagram recently with some amazing photos of the book and it really caught my attention. Then it kept showing up on my feed and I just had to see what everyone was talking about and I am so glad that I did.

I honestly hadn’t heard anything about this book until I saw it on my timeline so clearly I’m living in my own little bubble because how could I have missed this?! I read the entire book in about 4-5 hours, with a small break for dinner, but just couldn’t put it down. It was so addictive.

First of all, the cover is beautiful! Just look at all that red and thorns and just, yes. Red covers always seem to catch my attention.  Of course I had seen some beautiful covers of it on Instagram as well. I will definitely be finishing the series after I finish my currently reading book.

The story was unique which was nice. The fairies in the book weren’t little things that were all adorable. They were badass and could kick some serious butt. It was more of a mature YA book because of that too, there was blood, violence and sex. The sex wasn’t explicit but it was enough to push it to be more mature and there was a decent amount of blood as well.

Team Rhysand
From Redbubble

Now, as for the story, the first book ended quite well in a nice neat package so you don’t have to finish the series I guess as it did finish the book quite well, but there were some things not answered and I just want to see what happens next! And the two teams to choose from; Team Tamlin or Team Rhysand. I don’t know which team I am on yet. I was Team Tamlin, but Rhysand though….

 

I mean this book was just so good and I cannot wait to be able to read the next one. It is a best-seller on Amazon which clearly shows that it is liked by many.

Team Tamlin
From Redbubble

Have any of you lovelies read this series yet? Or just this book? Whose team are you on and did you like the series?

Happy Reading!!!