Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

Psy/Changling Series
Book 1


Dive into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind—and none of the heart…

In a world that denies emotions, where the ruling Psy punish any sign of desire, Sascha Duncan must conceal the feelings that brand her as flawed. To reveal them would be to sentence herself to the horror of “rehabilitation”— the complete psychic erasure of everything she ever was….

Both human and animal, Lucas Hunter is a Changeling hungry for the very sensations the Psy disdain. After centuries of uneasy co-existence, these two races are now on the verge of war over the brutal murders of several Changeling women. Lucas is determined to find the Psy killer who butchered his packmate, and Sascha is his ticket into their closely guarded society. But he soon discovers that this ice-cold Psy is very capable of passion—and that the animal in him is fascinated by her. Caught between their conflicting worlds, Lucas and Sascha must remain bound to their identities—or sacrifice everything for a taste of darkest temptation…”



Oh my god. So I’ve read all the Guild Hunter series books so now it’s time to start her other series, the Psy/Changling series. And OH MY GOD I’M SO IN LOVE.

Like, I have so many more books to read and I’m so excited and I can’t wait! Like wowowowowowowowowowowwow! So many characters (as seen here), so many packs, so much going on. This book didn’t have any sexual content until later on. Sure there was the intent and the idea there from sometime earlier in the book, but it wasn’t the main theme. There was SO much more going on.

I mean, this series is so creative with the NetMind and like this entire network of minds that work together in a kind of database. Think like the cloud or something like that, but this is ALL IN YOUR MIND! I mean how cool and scary is that? You don’t really get to keep your thoughts to yourself at all, and I really wouldn’t want to be part of this world, but I mean, it still is pretty darn cool, right? The idea behind it.

Then you have the changelings. They are, essentially, shapeshifters. In the first book you are introduced to cats and wolves which are the two types of shapeshifters in the book, as far as I know. They are just, overall, extremely badass. I mean, they kick butt, they have a feral side to them, they’re protective, especially the males, they’re adorable (the children). I mean, it’s great.

And you get introduced into the world in an interesting way.

I mean overall, there is just so much going on. I mean, the character development in this is fanatastic. There is SO much of it. Yes, sometimes it is kind of fast, but since each book in this series concentrates on a different character (as there are so many), the books do have to move along. You can’t really read each book as a stand alone because there are ties to things that happened in the other books, so you should read it in order.

I have the first 6 books at home at the moment and am working through them, but this is her larger series, so it will take time for me to read.

But, so far, I’m absolutely in love! Definitely do check it out.

The sex in the book isn’t terribly graphic, but there are moments where it’s definitely inappropriate for younger readers. So, like all Nalini Singh books, it is for older readers, 18 and up.

But, happy reading!