Harrys Wondrous World

Book Review: The Professor and the Bird by Roberta Franklin

Book Review: The Professor and the Bird Rating: 2/5 teacups

Summary

“Professor Angelopoulos is a mature, experienced, and renowned archaeologist. Whilst working in the sweltering heat of the Kanesh desert, Turkey, he meets the true love of his life, Sally. Sally, a young Irish girl, arrives at the archaeological camp after being injured in a motorcycle accident. Whilst Sally is at the camp she uncovers one of the most important archaeological find in history, a simple piece of clay with the oldest inscription in an Indo-European language upon it. Together, with the Professor and other camp members they must project this rare item of national heritage from a millionaire collector, and ensure it arrives safely at the Archaeological Museum, where it must be displayed for everyone to see.”

-From Amazon.com

Review

First off, I generally don’t give low ratings to books but this one I unfortunately had to. I didn’t even get to finish the book because I just couldn’t get into it.

Simple writing style.
To be blunt, I felt the writing style was extremely simple and the way that it was progressing in the story was just too choppy, going all over the place and all of these things happening. It just it kept going all over the place. It wasn’t written fast paced, it just kept jumping around which really bothered me. Like it was not one cohesive thought. As for the sentence structure, it was short and choppy and just was too simple writing for what the story was supposed to be about and for the intended audiences.

The romance was just cringe worthy.
I have read a lot of romance novels, more than I would care to own up to, and this just was not good romance writing. Within the first 100 pages she had already been through like two guys and one was really forward with her and it just was a little strange to read. The main character comes across like early twenties, in my opinion, and this professor comes across like someone in his 50’s/60’s so it’s just this very strange building romantic connection. I couldn’t continue reading as it just was definitely not my kind of romantic connection and was not going anywhere. It had this 50 Shades of Grey feel where people would have these thoughts to themselves like the professor would say “Oh she is so sweet, but she’s so young.” And I’m here like “NOOOOOO!”

It did have a nice location.
It was based in an exotic location which was quite nice, having this Indiana Jones kind of feel, but I had to keep reminding myself that they were out in the desert in the middle of nowhere. So it was a different setting for the book, but it certainly wasn’t enough to keep me intrigued. It was also a little strange how Sally just appeared out of nowhere on a bike, taking part of a race, when no other cars passed by. I just found it kind of unrealistic with how she got to this location in the beginning of the book.

Overall, not a great read.
If I didn’t have to read the volume of books that I have to read, I might have finished it. However with my time constraint and the amount of other books that are waiting for my attention, this didn’t catch my attention fast enough and was incredibly hard to get into and I just couldn’t continue reading it.

For me, life is too short to read a not-amazing book and I just couldn’t push myself to continue.  Yes, this was quite a blunt review and all, however there’s no point in mincing words and beating it around the bush. I also know that this is part of a tour for a book but I can’t give a dishonest review and say that it was amazing when, frankly, it wasn’t to me.

I would give this read a 2 out of 5 teacups, meaning that this a take it or leave it read.

rating two tea cups mlcwo

Harrys Wondrous World

Book Spotlight: The Girl in the Shadows by Katherine Debona

The Girl in the Shadows by Katherine Debona

The Girl in the Shadows by Katherine Debona

A teenage girl is missing in Paris
A young woman is searching for her mother
A female PI on a mission
When police drop the case on missing Mathilde Benazet, renegade PI Veronique Cotillard steps in to prove that she can succeed where police inspector Guillaume Leveque and his team have failed…
Alice Weston’s father had always told her that her mother died in childbirth – but now Alice has proof she may be alive and living in Paris. Now her father is dead she has nothing to stay for, it’s time to uncover her family’s long-buried secrets…
As their lives intertwine and the city prepares to celebrate Bastille Day in the shadow of a gathering storm, both Veronique and Alice will face the ghosts of the past – and the monsters in the present.

Amazon: http://rxe.me/FS8N7B
Harrys Wondrous World

Book Spotlight: Scent of the Past by Erin Marie Bernardo

Scent of the Past by Eri Marie Bernardo

Scent of the Past by Erin Marie Bernardo

A secret diary. A forgotten past. Another time. 
 
Close cousins Addison and Elissa live in present day New York City and lead somewhat ordinary lives. When uncertain circumstances surrounding a set of antique perfume bottles sends them back to eighteenth-century France, they must uncover the truth behind their travel. 
 
Disaster strikes when Addison finds herself in a nearly identical situation to a mishap she experienced in the present—the witnessing of a murder and release of a secret. Only this time the truth could destroy the entire French monarchy. With Addison’s head on the line, the young women search for answers before Addison suffers her unlucky fate twice. It is only when they discover the haunting connections to life in the present, that they understand why they both were sent, and why a repeating past…may not always be such a bad thing.

 

 
Harrys Wondrous World

Book Spotlight: Outbreak Mutiny by Jay Sandlin

Outbreak Mutiny by Jay Sandlin

Outbreak Mutiny by Jay Sandlin

ALTERNATE HISTORY. WITH SUPERHEROES. 

December 31, 1929, was a Day That Lived in Infamy. A war between extraordinary beings with superpowers ended in DEFEAT for the United States and her Allies. Darkness fell on a Golden Age of heroes at the hands of the REICH.

Ten years later, all still mourn the anniversary of the day the Reich seized control during Operation TripleReich. Life is a struggle for the Remnant States occupying the middle of the Old US.

A virus in the Chicago Zone reignites the conflict between good and evil as the Outbreak Mutineers gather to stop the plague’s deadly origins.

Join the Outbreak Babies: – Buccaneer, Clockwork, Atlas, and more- as they battle the Warlords of Reich. Their adventures stretch across the years and through the sewers, high-seas, and even a city park.

No Matter the Time or Place, their Choice is Clear:

Die Free or Live in Chains.



Amazon: http://rxe.me/ZDL95Q
Harrys Wondrous World

Book Spotlight: Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin

Before You Were Mine by Em Muslin

Sometimes hope has a way of changing everything…

Just hours after giving birth, Eli Bell is forced to give up her newborn baby daughter for adoption. Devastated, she tries desperately to rebuild her shattered life.

Then, over thirty years later, Eli catches sight of her daughter. And she knows that she must do everything to find a way back into her life. Even if it means lying…

While her husband Tommy must grow to accept his own part in the events of her early life, he can only try to save her before her obsession with the young woman ruins them both.

Don’t miss the breathtaking debut Before You Were Mineby Em Muslin! Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Alice Peterson and Lucy Dillon.


Amazon: rxe.me/1D4J3M

Apple: itun.es/gb/Spb8ib.l

Barnes & Noble: bit.ly/2qiCVdW

Kobo: bit.ly/2qmN7kR